This division relates to the Policy For agricultural biosecurity.

The majority voted against a motion that these three bills be read for a third time. This means that the majority reject the bills and that they will not pass in the Senate.(Read more about the stages that a bill much pass through to become law here. )

Background to the bills

The Horse Disease Response Levy Bill 2008 was introduced along with the Horse Disease Response Levy Collection Bill 2008 and the Horse Disease Response Levy (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2008. The bills "introduce a levy on the initial registration of horses so that the Australian horse industry, under the terms of the Emergency Animal Disease Response Agreement (EADRA), can repay the Commonwealth for financial assistance in the event of an outbreak of an emergency horse disease".(Read more about the bill in its bills digest. )

This measure was proposed in response to an outbreak of equine influenza in 2007, which greatly damaged the Australian horse industry.(Read more about the 2007 equine flu outbreak here.) The Commonwealth government provided extensive financial aid to assist the horse industry through the quarantine process in conjunction with State governments. The purpose of this bill is to allow the Commonwealth government to introduce a levy to raise funds that can be used in the event of future emergency disease outbreaks affecting the horse industry.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (87% turnout) 27 Yes 0 No
Mark Arbib NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
David Feeney Victoria Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Anne McEwen SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (86% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Marise Payne NSW No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Judith Adams WA Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (88% turnout) 32 Yes – 34 No