The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Labor MP Nick Sherry. The motion was: "that the committee does not insist on amendments Nos (3), (4), (5), (8) and (10) to (13)."(See here for a schedule of the amendments made by the Senate to which the House of Representatives has disagreed. )

This motion was introduced after the House of Representatives rejected amendments that the Senate had agreed to while considering the bill.(Read more about the stages that a bill must pass through to become a law here. Compare these stages to the progress of this bill here. )

These amendments related to the transfer of the Communications Fund.(Read more about the amendments in the debate over this motion here. ) They opposed the proposal to transfer the balance of the Communications Fund to the Building Australia Fund to support the National Broadband Network.

One senator, Liberal Senator Alan Eggleston, rebelled and crossed the floor to vote 'no'.(Read more about what it means to cross the floor in our FAQ Section.)

Read more about the bill here.


Votes Passed by a modest majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Mark Arbib NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Mark Furner Queensland Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
David Feeney Victoria Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
Liberal Party (20% turnout) 5 Yes 1 No
George Brandis Queensland Yes
Helen Coonan NSW Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
Alan Eggleston WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Judith Adams WA Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Yes
Totals (57% turnout) 35 Yes – 8 No