The majority voted against an amendment 5678 introduced by Senator Bob Brown, which means it failed. This amendment would have changed section 255A (see below) so that "Where a substantial risk is identified licences must not be granted".

This is an environmental protection measure.

Amendment text

Senator Brown’s amendment on sheet 5678 to opposition amendment (2) on sheet 5677

(1) At the end of the amendment, add ‘, substitute:

(2) Where a substantial risk is identified licences must not be granted.”

Opposition amendment (2) on sheet 5677

(2) Schedule 2, item 161A, omit subsection 255A(2).

255A Application of water charge rules in Basin States that are not referring States

(1) If a Basin State is not a referring State, water charge rules apply in the State to a regulated water charge if one or more of the paragraphs in subsection (2) are satisfied.

(2) This subsection applies if:

(a) the person imposing the charge, or making the demand, is a constitutional corporation; or

(b) the person on whom the charge is imposed, or from whom the charge is demanded, is a constitutional corporation; or

(c) the charge is imposed, or payment of the charge is demanded, in the course of trade and commerce between the States or between a State and a Territory; or

(d) the person who imposes, or demands payment of, the charge does so in a Territory; or

(e) the charge relates to:

(i) a water resource in a Territory; or

(ii) water service infrastructure in a Territory; or

(iii) tradeable water rights in relation to a water resource in a Territory; or

(f) the charge is imposed, or payment of the charge is demanded, using a postal, telegraphic, telephonic or other like service (within the meaning of paragraph 51(v) of the Constitution).

(3) Subsection (2), and the paragraphs of that subsection, do not limit the operation (if any) that the water charge rules validly have apart from this section.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (61% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Arbib NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Absent
Liberal Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Judith Adams WA Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (61% turnout) 6 Yes – 40 No