The majority voted against Greens amendment (1), which would have changed the Marriage Act to legalise same-sex marriage if it had been successful.

Greens Senator Sarah Hanson-Young explained that:

This amendment deals with amending the Marriage Act to ensure that in this particular bill, which is the general law reform bill, we enable same-sex couples and opposite-sex couples to have the same rights and entitlements as each other. There is one glaring omission from this particular bill, and that is the Marriage Act. I have flagged this numerous times. The Greens have been talking about the need for gay marriage law reform for a long time and this is the appropriate place to do this.

Motion text

(1) Schedule 2, page 21 (after line 16), after item 60, insert:

Marriage Act 1961

60A Section 5 (definition of marriage)

Omit “a man and a woman”, substitute “two persons, regardless of their sexuality or gender identity”.

60B Subsection 47(1)

Omit “a man and a woman”, substitute “two persons, regardless of their sexuality or gender identity”.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (65% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Mark Arbib NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Absent
Liberal Party (13% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Judith Adams WA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Sue Boyce Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Mary Fisher SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Helen Kroger Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Hogg Queensland President No
Totals (46% turnout) 5 Yes – 30 No