The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Bob Brown, which means that it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That the Senate—

(a) notes the following statement of claims from the Fair Go for Pensioners Coalition:

‘1. That the Federal Government increases the pension rate from 25% of average weekly earnings to 35% of average weekly earnings until a more appropriate pension measure is developed. 2. That proper and improved healthcare measures for pensioners are prioritised, including medical, dental, optical, hearing, pharmaceutical and culturally appropriate services. 3. That the level of funding for aged care services, including culturally appropriate services, is significantly increased and extended to meet the growing demand in this area. 4. That our pensions are not restricted due to overseas travel to visit loved ones. 5. That legislation/regulations be enacted to protect older people considering taking out reverse mortgages. 6. That a thorough review of the means test and GST impact for pensioners and concessions should be undertaken to ensure that pensioners are not losing out.’; and

(b) asks the Government to consider it for inclusion in the 2008-09 Budget.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (80% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (58% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Mark Arbib NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (53% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 6 Yes – 40 No