The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Greens Senator Sarah Hanson-Young, which means it failed.

Motion text

At the end of the motion, add

but the Senate:

(a) calls on the Government to introduce amendments to the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993 to remove discrimination in the administration of private superannuation funds by mandating that where such funds recognises opposite-sex de facto couples they must also recognise same-sex de facto couples;

(b) recommends that the umbrella term ‘couple relationship’ be retained in this bill and also be extended to registered relationships in this bill and in similar legislation to ensure:

(i) equal treatment of same-sex and opposite-sex relationships for the payment of death benefits, and

(ii) that the courts do not treat married, registered or de facto couples differently, in that each would have unique criteria but be provided with equal ‘couple relationship’ entitlements; and

(c) recommends that the terms used to define parents and their children be simplified wherever possible in this and similar legislation to ‘parent’ and ‘child’, and applied consistently to ensure children across Australia are equitably included and the distinction between parents, co-parents and step-parents not be inappropriately or unnecessarily blurred.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (80% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Mark Arbib NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Don Farrell SA No
David Feeney Victoria No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Mark Furner Queensland No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Louise Pratt WA No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Liberal Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Helen Kroger Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
John Hogg Queensland President Absent
Totals (68% turnout) 5 Yes – 47 No