The majority voted against a motion introduced by Democrats Senator Lyn Allison. This means it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) in December 2007 Ausra Inc. announced that it will build a manufacturing plant in Nevada for solar thermal power systems, (ii) Ausra’s innovations in mirror systems have brought the price of solar power down to the level of gas-fired power and is expected soon to be price competitive with coal-fired power, and (iii) the plant will produce 700 MW a year in solar thermal power systems for the American Southwest;

(b) congratulates the founder of Ausra, world-renowned, Dr David Mills, for this development and for his longstanding solar technology innovation at the University of Sydney, including:

(i) the evacuated tube solar water heater technology that is now in use in 60 per cent of these units worldwide, (ii) the Compact Linear Fresnel Reflector for use in solar thermal energy, (iii) photovoltaic systems, and (iv) a solar steriliser design which won a World Health Organization award in 2002;

(c) regrets that the economic benefits of this important innovation in renewable, clean, base load power have been lost to Australia; and (d) urges the Government to:

(i) recognise that Australia, like Nevada and California, has excellent sources of solar energy from which to generate solar thermal base load power, and (ii) provide the necessary incentives for the technology to also be established in Australia.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Ruth Webber WA No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Dana Wortley SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Alan Ferguson SA President No
Totals (80% turnout) 9 Yes – 52 No