The majority voted in favour of the bill's main idea. In parliamentary jargon, they voted to read the bill for a second time. The Senate can now discuss the bill in more detail.

What is the bill's main idea?

The purpose of the bill is to introduce a test that a person has to pass before they can become a citizen.

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Lyn Allison Victoria No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Andrew Murray WA No
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bob Brown Tasmania No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Kerry Nettle NSW No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Mark Bishop WA Absent
George Campbell NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Absent
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (56% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Judith Adams WA Yes
Guy Barnett Tasmania Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Sue Boyce Queensland Yes
Grant Chapman SA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
Alan Ferguson SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Mary Fisher SA Yes
Rod Kemp Victoria Yes
Kay Patterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
John Watson Tasmania Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
National Party (20% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (62% turnout) 40 Yes – 7 No