The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Christine Milne, which means that it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

(a) notes that:

(i) India is not a signatory to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT),

(ii) the United States of America (US) and India have agreed to the terms of a deal to exempt India from US laws and international rules that seek to prevent states that are not parties to the NPT from using commercial imports of nuclear technology and fuel to aid their nuclear weapons ambitions,

(iii) under the India-US nuclear deal two reactors dedicated to making plutonium for nuclear weapons and nine power reactors, including a plutonium breeder reactor that is under construction, will be outside international safeguards,

(iv) India needs to import uranium to relieve an acute fuel shortage for its existing nuclear reactors and that importing uranium will free up more of India’s domestic uranium for its military program,

(v) Pakistan has expressed its fears about the India-US nuclear deal, and

(vi) any sale of Australian uranium would contravene the NPT; and

(b) calls on the Government to:

(i) reject any sale of Australian uranium to non-NPT states,

(ii) encourage India to join the NPT, and

(iii) use its position in the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) to block the submission to give India an exemption from the NSG rules preventing the supply of uranium to non-NPT states.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Grant Chapman SA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (68% turnout) 8 Yes – 44 No