The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Andrew Bartlett, which means it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

(1) Schedule 1, item 14, page 5 (line 8), omit paragraph 10(1)(b), substitute:

(b) a member appointed to represent the interests of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities adjacent to the Marine Park;

(c) at least 1 but not more than 3 other members.

Senator Bartlett explained that the motion relates to the issue of the membership of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA).(Read Senator Bartlett's full explanation and the associated debate here, starting from 6:58 pm. )

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced in response to recommendations made in the Review of the Corporate Governance of Statutory Authorities and Office Holders (the Uhrig Review).(Read more about the background to the bill in its bills digest. ) The bill amends the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Act 1975 to:

  • implement changes to the governance arrangements of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority;
  • provide for a periodic outlook report and the development of zoning plans for the Marine Park; and
  • replace the Great Barrier Reef Consultative Committee with a non-statutory advisory board.(A summary of the bill and its explanatory memorandum can be found here.)

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Bob Brown Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
George Campbell NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Sue Boyce Queensland No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Mary Fisher SA No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (83% turnout) 29 Yes – 34 No