This motion is confusing. While it was introduced by the Greens Party, they are the only ones who seem to have voted against it. This suggests that the vote was actually on whether to reject the motion? Unfortunately, the Hansard isn't clear on this point.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) that Australia’s coal exports will cause as much greenhouse gas emissions as are produced in Australia each year, and

(ii) that coal from the proposed Anvil Hill coal mine in New South Wales will cause more greenhouse gas emissions than the 4 million vehicles on New South Wales roads; and

(b) calls on the Government not to approve the development of the Anvil Hill coal mine.

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bob Brown Tasmania No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Kerry Nettle NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (74% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
George Campbell NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Robert Ray Victoria Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 25 Yes 0 No
Judith Adams WA Yes
Guy Barnett Tasmania Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
Grant Chapman SA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Alan Eggleston WA Yes
Chris Ellison WA Yes
Alan Ferguson SA Yes
Jeannie Ferris SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Rod Kemp Victoria Yes
Ross Lightfoot WA Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Yes
Kay Patterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
Russell Trood Queensland Yes
Amanda Vanstone SA Yes
John Watson Tasmania Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Sandy Macdonald NSW Yes
Julian McGauran Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Yes
Totals (79% turnout) 57 Yes – 3 No