The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison, which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate:

(a) welcomes the fifty-first session of the Commission on the Status of Women taking place from 26 February to 9 March 2007, with a theme of ‘The elimination of all forms of discrimination and violence against the girl child’;

(b) acknowledges the vital role of the Commission in bringing the concerns of women and girls to the attention of the world community and in promoting women’s rights;

(c) stresses that it is important for world democracy that women should take a full and equal part in political, social, economic and cultural life;

(d) condemns the continuing grave violations of the human rights of women and girls throughout the world;

(e) expresses grave concern over continued restrictions on women’s access to education and health care, employment outside the home, freedom of movement and freedom from intimidation, harassment and violence in many countries;

(f) notes that women in many parts of the world still lack the capacity and support to speak out against violence and discrimination;

(g) emphasises that violence and discrimination against women and girls is a public issue and societal responsibility and that the education and development of men and boys is inextricably linked to advancing the rights and well-being of women and girls;

(h) encourages the Government to expand its support and funding for international organisations and programs providing high-quality education for girls, nutrition for early growth and development, sexual and reproductive health services, and safe spaces, legal structures and advocacy for girls;

(i) urges the Government to support organisations and programs that engage men in tackling discrimination and violence against women and girls, including changing harmful traditions and practices; and

(j) calls for Government leadership to end gender-based violence and eliminate discrimination against women and girls in Australia.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (89% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
George Campbell NSW Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (94% turnout) 0 Yes 30 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (92% turnout) 33 Yes – 37 No