The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Greens Senator Christine Milne (Tas), which means it was rejected.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) recognises that the global price of oil is likely to continue to rise because of dwindling global supply, ongoing demand including from the rapidly growing economies of China and India, limited and inflexible refining capacity, interrupted supply because of climate change related storms and infrastructure damage in addition to geo-political factors;

(b) endorses the development of a national strategy to reduce Australia’s dependence on oil; and

(c) calls on the Government to:

(i) establish a Council of Australian Governments process to begin redesigning Australian cities with a view to investing in public transport to reduce car dependence,

(ii) introduce mandatory vehicle fuel efficiency standards for all new motor vehicles, and

(iii) invest in the development of alternative fuels.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Andrew Murray WA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (81% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Chris Evans WA No
John Faulkner NSW No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Absent
Liberal Party (63% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (71% turnout) 7 Yes – 47 No