The majority voted in favour of a motion to disagree with amendments (1) to (3) introduced by Fowler MP Dai Le (Independent), which means they failed.

What did the amendment do?

Ms Le explained that:

The amendments I have risen to move will do the following: increase cooperation between the commission and individuals of multicultural backgrounds; and assist those with language barriers to be fully understood and also to clearly communicate with the commission. Amendment (1) will ensure translation and interpretation services are available to Australians who require them. It means the commission will need to provide contact details for translator services in a situation where there is a language barrier. This amendment will ensure that is followed through to summons and the commission's investigative processes. Amendments (2) and (3) will ensure the commission will provide individuals with appropriate mental health resources and support through the commission process. Being called in front of an integrity commission can be daunting, can be shocking and can lead to suicide—and it has led to suicides. I want to ensure that, when the commission is established, investigating corruption is not at the cost of life, especially a life who was not corrupt or may have never been found corrupt.

Read more about the bill in its bills digest.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 63, page 64 (line 10), at the end of subclause (4), add:

; and (c) include contact details for translator services.

(2) Page 65 (after line 19), after clause 66, insert:

66A Services that must be provided to persons appearing at hearings

(1) The Commissioner must cause the following to be provided to a person who appears at a hearing:

(a) appropriate translation services during the hearing;

(b) mental health counselling and support services, provided by an appropriately qualified social support worker or health care professional (the treatment provider).

(2) If, under paragraph (1)(b), a person is provided with a counselling or support service by a treatment provider, neither the person nor the treatment provider is required to do anything under this Act that would disclose any statement made or any information given as part of the counselling or support service.

(3) Clause 73, page 68 (line 30), at the end of subclause (3), add:

; (f) whether a person giving evidence has a reasonable level of English language proficiency;

(g) the need for cultural sensitivity if the person giving evidence is from a non-English speaking background.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Stephen Bates Brisbane No
Max Chandler-Mather Griffith No
Elizabeth Watson-Brown Ryan No
Adam Bandt Melbourne Absent
Australian Labor Party (92% turnout) 70 Yes 0 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Michelle Ananda-Rajah Higgins Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Matt Burnell Spence Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Yes
Alison Byrnes Cunningham Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Andrew Charlton Parramatta Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Pat Conroy Shortland Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Cassandra Fernando Holt Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Carina Garland Chisholm Yes
Steve Georganas Adelaide Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Luke Gosling Solomon Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Tania Lawrence Hasluck Yes
Jerome Laxale Bennelong Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Zaneta Mascarenhas Swan Yes
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Louise Miller-Frost Boothby Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Daniel Mulino Fraser Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Alicia Payne Canberra Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Sam Rae Hawke Yes
Gordon Reid Robertson Yes
Dan Repacholi Hunter Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Tracey Roberts Pearce Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Marion Scrymgour Lingiari Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Sally Sitou Reid Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Sam Lim Tangney Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Helen Haines Indi Independent Yes
Monique Ryan Kooyong Independent Yes
Kate Chaney Curtin Independent No
Zoe Daniel Goldstein Independent No
Dai Le Fowler Independent No
Sophie Scamps Mackellar Independent No
Allegra Spender Wentworth Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Kylea Tink North Sydney Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Colin Boyce Flynn No
Garth Hamilton Groom No
Henry Pike Bowman No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Andrew Willcox Dawson No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (92% turnout) 0 Yes 33 No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
David Coleman Banks No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Jenny Ware Hughes No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Keith Wolahan Menzies No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Zoe McKenzie Flinders Absent
Bert Van Manen Forde Absent
Aaron Violi Casey Absent
National Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Sam Birrell Nicholls No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
Andrew Gee Calare Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Speaker Absent
Totals (90% turnout) 73 Yes – 63 No