The majority voted in favour of a motion that the amendments be considered immediately.

What is the bill's main idea?

According to the bill homepage, the bill:

Amends the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 to reduce from $500,000 to $100,000 the threshold for electoral expenditure that can be incurred by an individual or organisation before they are required to register as a political campaigner.

More detail is included in the bills digest, which is produced by the parliamentary library and is a useful nonpartisan document.

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (24% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Nick Champion Spence Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Tony Burke Watson Absent
Josh Burns Macnamara Absent
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Absent
Terri Butler Griffith Absent
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Absent
Justine Elliot Richmond Absent
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Chris Hayes Fowler Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Madeleine King Brand Absent
Andrew Leigh Fenner Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Daniel Mulino Fraser Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
David Smith Bean Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Susan Templeman Macquarie Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Josh Wilson Fremantle Absent
Tony Zappia Makin Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Absent
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff Yes
Garth Hamilton Groom Yes
Julian Simmonds Ryan Yes
Phillip Thompson Herbert Yes
Terry Young Longman Yes
Liberal Party (48% turnout) 26 Yes 0 No
John Alexander Bennelong Yes
Katie Allen Higgins Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Bridget Archer Bass Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
Trevor Evans Brisbane Yes
Nicolle Flint Boothby Yes
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Julian Leeser Berowra Yes
Gladys Liu Chisholm Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Fiona Martin Reid Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Tony Pasin Barker Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Dave Sharma Wentworth Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Lucy Wicks Robertson Yes
Rick Wilson O'Connor Yes
Tim Wilson Goldstein Yes
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Vince Connelly Stirling Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Jason Falinski Mackellar Absent
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Absent
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Absent
Celia Hammond Curtin Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Gavin Pearce Braddon Absent
Stuart Robert Fadden Absent
Michael Sukkar Deakin Absent
Angus Taylor Hume Absent
Dan Tehan Wannon Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Absent
National Party (53% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
Pat Conaghan Cowper Yes
Damian Drum Nicholls Yes
David Gillespie Lyne Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Yes
Michelle Landry Capricornia Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
George Christensen Dawson Absent
Andrew Gee Calare Absent
Barnaby Joyce New England Absent
David Littleproud Maranoa Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Absent
Keith Pitt Hinkler Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Speaker Absent
Craig Kelly Hughes United Australia Party Absent
Totals (40% turnout) 55 Yes – 5 No