The majority voted in favour of disagreeing with amendments introduced by Watson MP Tony Burke (Labor), which means they failed.

What do the amendments do?

Mr Burke explained that:

the purpose of these amendments is to do what the government said it was going to do, which is to implement all 55 recommendations of the Respect@Work report. The amendments do the following: the objects to include achieving gender equality, recommendation 16(a) of the Respect@Work report; the seriously demeaning threshold, recommendation 16(b) of the Respect@Work report; and implementing the hostile environment clauses, recommendation 16(c) of the Respect@Work report. Recommendations 17 and 18 of the Respect@Work report call for a positive duty and compliance powers for the Human Rights Commission. It's not in the government legislation. This amendment will put it there. Recommendation 19 of the Respect@Work report is to implement them. Recommendation 23 of the report is to implement representative actions to allow unions and other representative groups to bring representative claims to court as per complaints to the commission. Recommendation 25 of the Respect@Work report is for the commission to implement cost protections. They're the changes to the Sex Discrimination Act and other acts that were recommended in the report that are not in the current bill.

As for the recommendations for amendments to the Fair Work Act that were in the Respect@Work report, recommendations 28 and 29 deal with the prohibition on sexual harassment in the Fair Work Act and having a complaints process to be able to deal with it. Further, the amendments have an extension of the 'stop sexual harassment order', as per the Human Rights Commission recommendation to the Senate enquiry; and they deal with the recommendation for 10 days paid family and domestic violence leave to be included in the National Employment Standards.

Amendment text

The amendment text is available of this page.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Absent
Australian Labor Party (24% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Tony Burke Watson No
Terri Butler Griffith No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Milton Dick Oxley No
Mike Freelander Macarthur No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Julian Hill Bruce No
Stephen Jones Whitlam No
Andrew Leigh Fenner No
Alicia Payne Canberra No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Sharon Bird Cunningham Absent
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Josh Burns Macnamara Absent
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Absent
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Justine Elliot Richmond Absent
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Madeleine King Brand Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Daniel Mulino Fraser Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Joanne Ryan Lalor Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Josh Wilson Fremantle Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Absent
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Absent
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Absent
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Angie Bell Moncrieff Absent
Garth Hamilton Groom Absent
Julian Simmonds Ryan Absent
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Terry Young Longman Absent
Liberal Party (31% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Katie Allen Higgins Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Vince Connelly Stirling Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Nicolle Flint Boothby Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Angus Taylor Hume Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
John Alexander Bennelong Absent
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Bridget Archer Bass Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Trevor Evans Brisbane Absent
Jason Falinski Mackellar Absent
Ian Goodenough Moore Absent
Celia Hammond Curtin Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Julian Leeser Berowra Absent
Gladys Liu Chisholm Absent
Nola Marino Forrest Absent
Fiona Martin Reid Absent
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Gavin Pearce Braddon Absent
Dave Sharma Wentworth Absent
Michael Sukkar Deakin Absent
Bert Van Manen Forde Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
Lucy Wicks Robertson Absent
Rick Wilson O'Connor Absent
Tim Wilson Goldstein Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 6 Yes 0 No
Andrew Gee Calare Yes
David Gillespie Lyne Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
George Christensen Dawson Absent
Pat Conaghan Cowper Absent
Damian Drum Nicholls Absent
Kevin Hogan Page Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
David Littleproud Maranoa Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Anne Webster Mallee Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Craig Kelly Hughes United Australia Party Absent
Totals (26% turnout) 23 Yes – 17 No