The majority voted in favour of disagreeing with amendments introduced by Whitlam MP Stephen Jones (Labor), which means the amendments failed.

Jones explained that these amendments did two things:

Firstly, they impose a requirement for a statutory review, which I understand to be something that the government will support. Secondly, they impose a requirement that the new provisions be sunsetted. I understand that the government does not support that proposition. I just want to make clear that the sunset provision gives ample time for us to get through the crisis, for us to get through the stock of anticipated insolvencies, for a review to occur and for the emergency provisions to be sunsetted, unless they are altered by new provisions that may enjoy the agreement of both houses of this place.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 2, page 2 (at the end of the table), add:

6. Schedule 5 The day after this Act receives the Royal Assent.

(2) Page 104 (after line 16), at the end of the Bill, add:

Schedule 5—Review of provisions and sunsetting

1 Review of Act

(1) The Minister must cause a review to be undertaken of the operation of the amendments made by this Act.

(2) Without limiting subitem (1), the review must consider the following:

(a) the efficacy of the amendments;

(b) the appropriateness of the amendments as a permanent features of the insolvency regime;

(c) any further amendments recommended to be made to the insolvency regime if the amendments made by this Act operated for a longer period of time or permanently;

(d) the effect of the amendments made by this Act on unincorporated small business creditors such as sole traders and partnerships, including any increase in individual bankruptcies that are correlated with, or attributable to, the amendments.

(3) The review must commence no later than 31 December 2021.

(4) The person or persons undertaking the review must give the Minister a written report of the review by 31 March 2022.

(5) The Minister must cause a copy of the report of the review to be laid before each House of the Parliament within 15 sitting days of that House after it is given to the Minister.

2 Sunsetting of amendments

An Act that is specified in a Schedule to this Act is taken, on and after the following day, to have effect as if the amendments made by this Act to that Act had not been made:

(a) if paragraph (b) does not apply—31 December 2022; or

(b) if the review has not commenced by 31 December 2021 in accordance with subitem 1(3)—31 December 2021.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 54 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Anne Aly Cowan No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Linda Burney Barton No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Terri Butler Griffith No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Jim Chalmers Rankin No
Nick Champion Spence No
Lisa Chesters Bendigo No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Libby Coker Corangamite No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Pat Conroy Shortland No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Mike Freelander Macarthur No
Steve Georganas Adelaide No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Luke Gosling Solomon No
Julian Hill Bruce No
Stephen Jones Whitlam No
Peter Khalil Wills No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Madeleine King Brand No
Andrew Leigh Fenner No
Richard Marles Corio No
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro No
Emma McBride Dobell No
Brian Mitchell Lyons No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Peta Murphy Dunkley No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Michelle Rowland Greenway No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Meryl Swanson Paterson No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tim Watts Gellibrand No
Josh Wilson Fremantle No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Milton Dick Oxley Absent
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Chris Hayes Fowler Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent Yes
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Yes
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff Yes
Garth Hamilton Groom Yes
Julian Simmonds Ryan Yes
Phillip Thompson Herbert Yes
Terry Young Longman Yes
Liberal Party (80% turnout) 44 Yes 0 No
John Alexander Bennelong Yes
Katie Allen Higgins Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Bridget Archer Bass Yes
Russell Broadbent Monash Yes
Vince Connelly Stirling Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Jason Falinski Mackellar Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Nicolle Flint Boothby Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Celia Hammond Curtin Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Gladys Liu Chisholm Yes
Fiona Martin Reid Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Tony Pasin Barker Yes
Gavin Pearce Braddon Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Dave Sharma Wentworth Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Michael Sukkar Deakin Yes
Angus Taylor Hume Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Andrew Wallace Fisher Yes
Lucy Wicks Robertson Yes
Rick Wilson O'Connor Yes
Tim Wilson Goldstein Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Trevor Evans Brisbane Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Craig Kelly Hughes Absent
Julian Leeser Berowra Absent
Nola Marino Forrest Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
George Christensen Dawson Yes
Pat Conaghan Cowper Yes
Damian Drum Nicholls Yes
Andrew Gee Calare Yes
David Gillespie Lyne Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
David Littleproud Maranoa Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (81% turnout) 66 Yes – 56 No