The majority voted in favour of a motion "That the message be considered at the next sitting." The "message" in this case was one from the Senate which, among other things:

(b) calls on the Federal Government to bring on the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) in the House for a vote in the June 2020 sittings. The Senate requests the concurrence of the House of Representatives in this resolution.

In other words, while the majority of the Senate was seeking to speed up consideration of the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2), the majority of the House of Representatives wanted to delay it.

Senate message text

The Senate transmits to the House of Representatives the following resolution which was agreed to by the Senate this day:

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Senate passed the Australian Greens' National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) on 9 September 2019 to establish a federal corruption watchdog with broad remit to investigate allegations of corruption and misconduct, and to ensure strong, independent oversight of the actions of parliamentarians;

(ii) the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) was sent to the House of Representatives for debate on 10 September 2019, but has yet to be debated;

(iii) on 10 February 2020, the Senate resolved to call on the House to vote on the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2);

(iv) the Government ignored this call and has prevented all attempts to debate and vote on the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) in the House;

(v) public consultation on the Commonwealth Integrity Commission model proposed by the Government ended nearly eighteen months ago, but the Government has yet to introduce legislation to establish an integrity commission;

(vi) in May 2020, the Attorney-General said that legislation to establish a Commonwealth Integrity Commission would be further delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, despite an exposure draft being "ready for release"; and

(vii) polls consistently show that the majority of Australians support the establishment of a strong national integrity body; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to bring on the National Integrity Commission Bill 2018 (No. 2) in the House for a vote in the June 2020 sittings. The Senate requests the concurrence of the House of Representatives in this resolution.

The Senate requests the concurrence of the House of Representatives in this resolution.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 47 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Anne Aly Cowan No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Linda Burney Barton No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Terri Butler Griffith No
Jim Chalmers Rankin No
Lisa Chesters Bendigo No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Libby Coker Corangamite No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Milton Dick Oxley No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Patrick Gorman Perth No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Stephen Jones Whitlam No
Ged Kearney Cooper No
Matt Keogh Burt No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Madeleine King Brand No
Richard Marles Corio No
Brian Mitchell Lyons No
Rob Mitchell McEwen No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Peta Murphy Dunkley No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Meryl Swanson Paterson No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tim Watts Gellibrand No
Anika Wells Lilley No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Andrew Giles Scullin Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Julian Hill Bruce Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Andrew Leigh Fenner Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Josh Wilson Fremantle Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff Yes
Julian Simmonds Ryan Yes
Terry Young Longman Yes
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 40 Yes 0 No
Katie Allen Higgins Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Bridget Archer Bass Yes
Russell Broadbent Monash Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Jason Falinski Mackellar Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Celia Hammond Curtin Yes
Andrew Hastie Canning Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Craig Kelly Hughes Yes
Julian Leeser Berowra Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Gladys Liu Chisholm Yes
Fiona Martin Reid Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
John McVeigh Groom Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Gavin Pearce Braddon Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Michael Sukkar Deakin Yes
Angus Taylor Hume Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Andrew Wallace Fisher Yes
Lucy Wicks Robertson Yes
Rick Wilson O'Connor Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Yes
John Alexander Bennelong Absent
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Vince Connelly Stirling Absent
Trevor Evans Brisbane Absent
Nicolle Flint Boothby Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Nola Marino Forrest Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Dave Sharma Wentworth Absent
Tim Wilson Goldstein Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 12 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
George Christensen Dawson Yes
Pat Conaghan Cowper Yes
Damian Drum Nicholls Yes
Andrew Gee Calare Yes
David Gillespie Lyne Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
David Littleproud Maranoa Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (72% turnout) 56 Yes – 52 No