The majority voted in favour of disagreeing with the motion to suspend the usual procedural rules - known as standing orders - in order to let a vote happen. In other words, they voted against letting the MP for Kennedy Bob Katter (Katter's Australian Party) move his motion related to the dairy industry.

Motion text

That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Kennedy from moving the following motion forthwith:

That the House:

(1) notes that:

(a) on 6 May 2020 the Minister for Agriculture put out a media release titled "Time to stop milking dairy, fair go for farmers";

(b) nearly 500 dairy farmers have left the industry in the past year;

(c) the ACCC in 2018 identified that there is a market imbalance between processors and farmers;

(d) in the state of Queensland alone the number of dairy farmers has dropped from 1,305 in 2000-2001 to 356 in 2019;

(e) Australia had 12,896 dairy farms in the year 2000;

(f) in 2018 there were just 5,699 dairy farms, a reduction of 57 per cent which is likely to have increased in the last 12 months;

(g) in the North Queensland dairy area before deregulation farmers got 60.4 cents per litre, but after deregulation they got 41.1 cents;

(h) Dairy Australia's Situation and Outlook March 2020 report says dairy farmers have been impacted by the summer bushfires adding additional price pressures to their operations, including in:

(i) NSW, 32 dairy farms on the south coast and far south coast and eight on the mid coast;

(ii) North East Victoria, 35 dairy farms directly affected and 11 more operations significantly impacted;

(iii) East Gippsland in Victoria, approximately 30 dairy farms affected in the direct fire zone with varying degrees of impact, including two known to have lost major assets; and

(iv) South Australia, 12 dairy farms affected by fires prior to Christmas;

(i) Dairy Australia has also stated a range of factors weighed on economic growth last year, including geopolitical tensions, trade policy uncertainty, social unrest and stressed emerging markets and overall, growth in global output fell 0.7 per cent to 2.9 per cent, the lowest level since the 2008-09 financial crisis;

(j) the Australian Dairy Situation Analysis dated May 2019 states that Australian dairy farmers operate in a deregulated and open market, leaving them quite exposed to the product price adjustments induced by global market shocks and associated flow on impact to farm gate milk prices, which, coupled with increased volatility in the availability and pricing of key production inputs such as water and feed has undermined local farmer confidence in the long term dairy market outlook and the scope to extract reliable returns from their milk to build a longer term future; and

(2) calls on the Government to:

(a) give more support to Australia's dairy farmers;

(b) instruct the ACCC to develop a minimum farmgate milk price;

(c) enforce the minimum farmgate milk price through the Dairy Code of Conduct; and

(d) as an interim measure, provide a mechanism for mandating the voluntary milk levy until the minimum farmgate price is established or create an offence to purchase fresh milk below the minimum price to farmers that will be set by an arbitration authority designated by the ACCC.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Jim Chalmers Rankin No
Pat Conroy Shortland No
Milton Dick Oxley No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Luke Gosling Solomon No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Matt Keogh Burt No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Richard Marles Corio No
Brian Mitchell Lyons No
Peta Murphy Dunkley No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga No
Anika Wells Lilley No
Josh Wilson Fremantle No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Sharon Bird Cunningham Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Terri Butler Griffith Absent
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Justine Elliot Richmond Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Julian Hill Bruce Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Madeleine King Brand Absent
Andrew Leigh Fenner Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Daniel Mulino Fraser Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
David Smith Bean Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Absent
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (25% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff Yes
Julian Simmonds Ryan Absent
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Terry Young Longman Absent
Liberal Party (45% turnout) 25 Yes 0 No
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Nicolle Flint Boothby Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Julian Leeser Berowra Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Gavin Pearce Braddon Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Michael Sukkar Deakin Yes
Angus Taylor Hume Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Lucy Wicks Robertson Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
John Alexander Bennelong Absent
Katie Allen Higgins Absent
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Bridget Archer Bass Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Vince Connelly Stirling Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Trevor Evans Brisbane Absent
Jason Falinski Mackellar Absent
Celia Hammond Curtin Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Craig Kelly Hughes Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Gladys Liu Chisholm Absent
Fiona Martin Reid Absent
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Absent
John McVeigh Groom Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Dave Sharma Wentworth Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
Rick Wilson O'Connor Absent
Tim Wilson Goldstein Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Absent
National Party (53% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
Damian Drum Nicholls Yes
Andrew Gee Calare Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Yes
David Littleproud Maranoa Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
George Christensen Dawson Absent
Pat Conaghan Cowper Absent
David Gillespie Lyne Absent
Barnaby Joyce New England Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (45% turnout) 35 Yes – 32 No