The majority voted to disagree with the amendment below being added to the usual second reading motion "that the bills be read for a second time". Reading a bill for a second time is parliamentary jargon for agreeing with the main idea of the bill. Because this amendment was unsuccessful, the words below will not be added. It was introduced by Whitlam MP Stephen Jones (Labor).

What do these bills do?

These bills were introduced to "implement the Government’s economic response to the spread of the Coronavirus, which the Government announced between 12 and 22 March 2020." You can find a copy of the bills' text on the bills' homepages by clicking on the bill hyperlinks provided on this page (each bill has its own hyperlink), or read about the Government's intentions with the bill on the explanatory memorandum. Due to the speed with which the bills went through parliament, there is currently no bills digest.

Amendment text

That the following words be added after paragraph (7):

"(8)(a) every Australian deserves a dignified retirement;

(b) Australians are proud of our world-class superannuation system;

(c) drawing down on superannuation when the market is at historic lows will have negative implications for most Australians, and should only be an option of last resort; and

(d) the administrative arrangements specified in Schedule 13 of the Coronavirus Economic Response Package Omnibus Bill 2020 will not ensure that Australians in genuine hardship receive prompt payment from their superannuation fund;

(9) calls on the Government to:

(a) ensure that ordinary Australians have access to the right information and advice in times of hardship by increasing funding for financial counselling and the Centrelink Financial Information Service; and

(b) closely monitor the financial advice industry to ensure that early release claimants are not provided with inaccurate advice; and

(10) asks the Government to:

(a) table a letter from the Chair of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, certifying that the implementation of Schedule 13 will have no systemic impacts on the superannuation system; and

(b) consult with industry, unions, and representatives of other political parties before the implementation of the measures in Schedule 13, noting the potentially significant, negative impact on the retirement outcomes of ordinary Australians".

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (54% turnout) 0 Yes 37 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Jim Chalmers Rankin No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Pat Conroy Shortland No
Milton Dick Oxley No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Mike Freelander Macarthur No
Steve Georganas Adelaide No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Patrick Gorman Perth No
Luke Gosling Solomon No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Julian Hill Bruce No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Stephen Jones Whitlam No
Peter Khalil Wills No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Andrew Leigh Fenner No
Richard Marles Corio No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Clare O'Neil Hotham No
Alicia Payne Canberra No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith No
Tim Watts Gellibrand No
Josh Wilson Fremantle No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Josh Burns Macnamara Absent
Terri Butler Griffith Absent
Anthony Byrne Holt Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Justine Elliot Richmond Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Madeleine King Brand Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Absent
Helen Haines Indi Independent Yes
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Yes
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Julian Simmonds Ryan Yes
Terry Young Longman Yes
Angie Bell Moncrieff Absent
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Liberal Party (61% turnout) 34 Yes 0 No
Katie Allen Higgins Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
Vince Connelly Stirling Yes
Trevor Evans Brisbane Yes
Jason Falinski Mackellar Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Nicolle Flint Boothby Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Luke Howarth Petrie Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Craig Kelly Hughes Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Julian Leeser Berowra Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Gladys Liu Chisholm Yes
Fiona Martin Reid Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Ben Morton Tangney Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Christian Porter Pearce Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Dave Sharma Wentworth Yes
Michael Sukkar Deakin Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Andrew Wallace Fisher Yes
Tim Wilson Goldstein Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney Yes
John Alexander Bennelong Absent
Bridget Archer Bass Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Ian Goodenough Moore Absent
Celia Hammond Curtin Absent
Andrew Hastie Canning Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Nola Marino Forrest Absent
John McVeigh Groom Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Gavin Pearce Braddon Absent
Rowan Ramsey Grey Absent
James Stevens Sturt Absent
Angus Taylor Hume Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Lucy Wicks Robertson Absent
Rick Wilson O'Connor Absent
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
Pat Conaghan Cowper Yes
Damian Drum Nicholls Yes
Andrew Gee Calare Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
David Littleproud Maranoa Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
George Christensen Dawson Absent
David Gillespie Lyne Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Absent
Anne Webster Mallee Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (58% turnout) 49 Yes – 38 No