The majority voted against a motion introduced by Hindmarsh MP Mark Butler (Labor), which means it failed. The motion was to suspend the usual parliamentary rules - known as standing orders - to let a vote happen.

Motion text

That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Hindmarsh from moving the following motion immediately—That the House:

(1) notes:

(a) New South Wales Police detectives formed Strike Force Garrad in November 2019 to investigate the creation of a fraudulent document that was disseminated by the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction as part of a political attack on the Lord Mayor of Sydney;

(b) New South Wales Police concluded "the document had to have been doctored from Canberra";

(c) the criminal investigation by New South Wales Police, encompassing the use of the fraudulent document by the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction, was referred to the Australian Federal Police in December 2019;

(d) the Australian Federal Police has not concluded its assessment of the state referral;

(e) the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction has not provided a full statement to the House about the role the Minister and his office played in the creation and dissemination of a fraudulent document which gave rise to long-running, and not-yet-concluded, criminal investigations in two jurisdictions;

(f) the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction has not advised if he and/or his office has assisted the criminal investigations related to his conduct by providing statements, documents and access to data;

(g) the Prime Minister has failed to uphold his ministerial standards by failing to sack the Minister for Emissions Reduction for repeated breaches of those standards, including bringing the government and this House into disrepute by creating and/or disseminating a fraudulent document; and

(h) the Prime Minister has failed to explain why the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction holds a place in his Cabinet when the former Minister for Agriculture, Senator McKenzie, was forced to resign her place; and

(2) requires the:

(a) Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction to attend the House at any time before 1 pm today and, for a time not exceeding 10 minutes:

(i) provide a full statement to the House about his role in the creation and dissemination of a fraudulent document that targeted the Lord Mayor of Sydney;

(ii) advise how he has assisted New South Wales and Federal police in the conduct of their inquiries; and

(iii) apologise to the House for his conduct; and

(b) Prime Minister to attend the House at any time before 1.30 pm today and, for a time not exceeding 10 minutes, explain to the House why the Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction is fit to serve as a Minister in his government but Senator McKenzie is not.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (96% turnout) 65 Yes 0 No
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Yes
Terri Butler Griffith Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Nick Champion Spence Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Pat Conroy Shortland Yes
Milton Dick Oxley Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Steve Georganas Adelaide Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Luke Gosling Solomon Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
Daniel Mulino Fraser Yes
Peta Murphy Dunkley Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Alicia Payne Canberra Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anika Wells Lilley Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Julian Simmonds Ryan No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (98% turnout) 0 Yes 55 No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Katie Allen Higgins No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
Vince Connelly Stirling No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Jason Falinski Mackellar No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Celia Hammond Curtin No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Steve Irons Swan No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Gladys Liu Chisholm No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Fiona Martin Reid No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
John McVeigh Groom No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ben Morton Tangney No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Dave Sharma Wentworth No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
David Coleman Banks Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
George Christensen Dawson No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Damian Drum Nicholls No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (97% turnout) 67 Yes – 79 No