A large majority voted against the motion introduced by MP for Clark Andrew Wilkie (Independent), which means it failed. This motion was to suspend the usual parliamentary rules (known as standing orders) so that another vote could take place.

Motion text

That so much of the standing orders be suspended as would prevent the Member for Clark from moving the following motion immediately—

That the House of Representatives calls on the Australian Government to establish a Royal Commission to inquire into and report on the Australian casino industry, with particular reference to:

(1) allegations of Crown Casino's links to organised domestic and foreign crime, money laundering, tampering with poker machines, domestic violence and drug trafficking, including but not limited to:

(a) the allegations concerning Crown, raised by the Member for Denison in the House of Representatives on 18 October 2017;

(b) the Member for Clark's referral of the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation, and Victoria Police, to the Victorian Independent Broad-based Anti-Corruption Commission on 24 July 2019;

(c) reports by Nine newspapers and 60 Minutes in July 2019 concerning alleged criminal activity involving Crown;

(d) the Member for Clark's referral of the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation to the Victorian Ombudsman on 13 August 2019;

(e) the Member for Clark's referral of Crown Perth to the Premier of Western Australia on 19 September 2019;

(f) the allegations of criminal activity provided by a driver formerly associated with Crown revealed by the Member for Clark in the House of Representatives on 30 July 2019, and again during a media event yesterday, including the failure to process inbound and outbound flights and passengers;

(g) the evidence of money laundering at Crown revealed by the ABC and the Member for Clark today;

(h) the response to these allegations, including the possibility of criminality, by relevant state and federal agencies including but not limited to the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation, Victoria Police, the Australian Federal Police, Border Force and the Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre;

(i) the conduct of people associated directly with Crown, including the possibility of criminality and corruption; and

(j) the conduct of serving and former politicians and party officials especially relevant to Crown, including the possibility of criminality or corruption.

(2) the performance of relevant federal agencies regarding the operation of Australian casinos generally including but not limited to the Australian Federal Police, Border Force and the Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre.

(3) the conduct of Australian casino owners, board members and staff generally;

(4) the conduct of serving and former politicians and party officials regarding Australian casinos generally; and

(5) any related matters.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (63% turnout) 0 Yes 43 No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Linda Burney Barton No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Terri Butler Griffith No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Lisa Chesters Bendigo No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Libby Coker Corangamite No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Pat Conroy Shortland No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Patrick Gorman Perth No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Ged Kearney Cooper No
Matt Keogh Burt No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Madeleine King Brand No
Richard Marles Corio No
Rob Mitchell McEwen No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Peta Murphy Dunkley No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Alicia Payne Canberra No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Michelle Rowland Greenway No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Meryl Swanson Paterson No
Susan Templeman Macquarie No
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Anika Wells Lilley No
Josh Wilson Fremantle No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Nick Champion Spence Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Absent
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Chris Hayes Fowler Absent
Julian Hill Bruce Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Andrew Leigh Fenner Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Tony Zappia Makin Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Helen Haines Indi Independent Yes
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Yes
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent Yes
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Julian Simmonds Ryan No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 38 No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Katie Allen Higgins No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
Vince Connelly Stirling No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Celia Hammond Curtin No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Steve Irons Swan No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Gladys Liu Chisholm No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Fiona Martin Reid No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
John McVeigh Groom No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Melissa Price Durack No
Dave Sharma Wentworth No
James Stevens Sturt No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Jason Falinski Mackellar Absent
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ben Morton Tangney Absent
Tony Pasin Barker Absent
Rowan Ramsey Grey Absent
Stuart Robert Fadden Absent
Michael Sukkar Deakin Absent
Angus Taylor Hume Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
Lucy Wicks Robertson Absent
Rick Wilson O'Connor Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Damian Drum Nicholls No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
George Christensen Dawson Absent
Barnaby Joyce New England Absent
David Littleproud Maranoa Absent
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (69% turnout) 5 Yes – 99 No