The majority voted against a motion introduced by MP for Maribyrnong Bill Shorten (ALP), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the House:

(1) notes that:

(a) the Finance Minister abolished the Labor Government's travel panel and made it compulsory for all Government travel to be booked through Helloworld companies;

(b) the Finance Minister received free flights to Singapore from Helloworld just before it was awarded a multimillion dollar whole of government contract by the Minister's own Department;

(c) the CEO of Helloworld and one of its largest shareholders, Mr Andrew Burnes, is the Liberal Party Treasurer;

(d) the US Ambassador Joe Hockey helped Helloworld lobby for Embassy travel arrangements but Embassy staff weren't aware of Mr Hockey's million dollar Helloworld shareholding when he directed them to set up a meeting with a Helloworld company, a meeting which Mr Hockey personally attended;

(e) DFAT officials in Australia weren't told about Mr Hockey's conflict of interest until after the meeting and Mr Hockey didn't list his million dollar Helloworld shareholding on his DFAT register of interests until the month after that meeting;

(f) explosive Estimates evidence today confirms that the meetings was arranged because, in the words of Mr Andrew Burns, "Hockey owes me"; and

(g) these are just the latest examples of Members in this Government acting as if they are above the rules and treating taxpayers' money as their own, including the:

(i) Helloworld scandal;

(ii) Paladin scandal;

(iii) unlawful tipping off an Australian Federal Police raid;

(iv) use of Ministerial authority to assist Liberal Party donors;

(v) treatment of a parliamentary committee as if it were a branch of the Liberal Party; and

(vi) use of a Members' position to promote their own commercial interests; and

(2) therefore, condemns Members of this Government for acting as though they are above the rules and treating taxpayers' money as their own.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (91% turnout) 63 Yes 0 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Gai Brodtmann Canberra Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Mark Butler Port Adelaide Yes
Terri Butler Griffith Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Nick Champion Wakefield Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Pat Conroy Shortland Yes
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Yes
Milton Dick Oxley Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Kate Ellis Adelaide Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Luke Gosling Solomon Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Batman Yes
Justine Keay Braddon Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Susan Lamb Longman Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Cathy O'Toole Herbert Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Wayne Swan Lilley Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Ross Hart Bass Absent
Julian Hill Bruce Absent
Emma Husar Lindsay Absent
Julie Owens Parramatta Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Absent
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent Yes
Julia Banks Chisholm Independent Absent
Cathy McGowan Indi Independent Absent
Kerryn Phelps Wentworth Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 53 No
Tony Abbott Warringah No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Julie Bishop Curtin No
Russell Broadbent McMillan No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff No
David Coleman Banks No
Chris Crewther Dunkley No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Trevor Evans Brisbane No
Jason Falinski Mackellar No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Nicolle Flint Boothby No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Sarah Henderson Corangamite No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Steve Irons Swan No
Michael Keenan Stirling No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Nola Marino Forrest No
John McVeigh Groom No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ben Morton Tangney No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Jane Prentice Ryan No
Melissa Price Durack No
Christopher Pyne Sturt No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Ann Sudmalis Gilmore No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Tim Wilson Goldstein No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Trent Zimmerman North Sydney No
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Craig Laundy Reid Absent
Dan Tehan Wannon Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Andrew Broad Mallee No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
George Christensen Dawson No
Damian Drum Murray No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Tony Smith Casey Speaker Absent
Totals (89% turnout) 65 Yes – 69 No