The majority voted against a motion letting the Leader of the Opposition, Mr Bill Shorten, put a motion condemning the Prime Minister.

Wording of the motion

That so much of standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent that Honourable the Leader of the Opposition from moving the following motion immediately.

That this House censures the Prime Minister for:

1) repeatedly and deliberately misleading the parliament and the Australian people by:

a) promising no cuts to the ABC or SBS, but cutting over $500 million and at least 400 jobs from these organisations;

b) promising before the election no cuts to education, no cuts to health, but cutting $80 billion from schools and hospitals;

c) promising before the election no cuts to education, but cutting more than $5.8 billion from our universities, meaning Australian students will pay more than $100,000 for a degree;

d) promising before the election no cuts to health, but hitting every Australian with a GP tax every time they visit the doctor;

e) promising no changes to pensions, but cutting $450 million from pension indexation;

f) promising no change to the GST, but blackmailing states and territories to make the case for him;

g) promising to build submarines in Australia, but going back on this promise; and

h) promising no new or increased taxes, but ambushing the Australian people with a $2.2 billion petrol tax.

2) for his dishonest and unfair budget which is hurting Australians.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens Yes
Australian Labor Party (75% turnout) 41 Yes 0 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Gai Brodtmann Canberra Yes
Anna Burke Chisholm Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Mark Butler Port Adelaide Yes
Terri Butler Griffith Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
David Feeney Batman Yes
Laurie Ferguson Werriwa Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Gary Gray Brand Yes
Jill Hall Shortland Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Throsby Yes
Andrew Leigh Fraser Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Alannah Mactiernan Perth Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Melissa Parke Fremantle Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Bernie Ripoll Oxley Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Wayne Swan Lilley Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kelvin Thomson Wills Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Nick Champion Wakefield Absent
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Absent
Pat Conroy Charlton Absent
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Kate Ellis Adelaide Absent
Andrew Giles Scullin Absent
Alan Griffin Bruce Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Natasha Griggs Solomon Country Liberal Party No
Bruce Scott Maranoa Deputy Speaker Absent
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent Yes
Cathy McGowan Indi Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal Party (96% turnout) 0 Yes 70 No
Tony Abbott Warringah No
John Alexander Bennelong No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Bob Baldwin Paterson No
Bruce Billson Dunkley No
Julie Bishop Curtin No
Jamie Briggs Mayo No
Russell Broadbent McMillan No
Mal Brough Fisher No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff No
David Coleman Banks No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong No
Teresa Gambaro Brisbane No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Sarah Henderson Corangamite No
Peter Hendy Eden-Monaro No
Joe Hockey North Sydney No
Luke Howarth Petrie No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Eric Hutchinson Lyons No
Dennis Jensen Tangney No
Ewen Jones Herbert No
Michael Keenan Stirling No
Craig Kelly Hughes No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Craig Laundy Reid No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Ian Macfarlane Groom No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Louise Markus Macquarie No
Russell Matheson Macarthur No
Karen McNamara Dobell No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Andrew Nikolic Bass No
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Christian Porter Pearce No
Jane Prentice Ryan No
Melissa Price Durack No
Christopher Pyne Sturt No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Don Randall Canning No
Andrew Robb Goldstein No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
Wyatt Roy Longman No
Philip Ruddock Berowra No
Fiona Scott Lindsay No
Luke Simpkins Cowan No
Tony Smith Casey No
Andrew Southcott Boothby No
Ann Sudmalis Gilmore No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Dan Tehan Wannon No
Alan Tudge Aston No
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth No
Bert Van Manen Forde No
Nickolas Varvaris Barton No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Brett Whiteley Braddon No
Lucy Wicks Robertson No
Matt Williams Hindmarsh No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Ken Wyatt Hasluck No
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Sharman Stone Murray Absent
National Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Andrew Broad Mallee No
Darren Chester Gippsland No
George Christensen Dawson No
John Cobb Calare No
Mark Coulton Parkes No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Ken O'Dowd Flynn No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Warren Truss Wide Bay Absent
Clive Palmer Fairfax Palmer United Party Absent
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Speaker Absent
Totals (85% turnout) 43 Yes – 85 No