The majority voted against an amendment to the following motion introduced by Nationals MP Tony Crook:(See the motion and the related amendment here. )

That this House:

(1) notes that:

(a) Goods and Services Tax (GST) revenues are distributed to the States and Territories in accordance with a formula driven by Horizontal Fiscal Equalisation (HFE) principles and are legislated for in the Federal Financial Relations Act 2009;

(b) for 2010-11, Western Australia received just 68 per cent of what it would have received if GST revenue was distributed across Australia on a per capita basis—the lowest relativity applied to any State since the formula was introduced; and

(c) every other State and Territory, by contrast, received not less than 91 per cent of what it would have received if GST revenue was distributed evenly across Australia; and

(2) calls on the Government to amend the Act to stipulate a minimum GST revenue-sharing relativity of 75 per cent, which would allow continuing respect for the principles of HFE, but with proper recognition for population, and without Western Australia being unfairly penalised for its disproportionate contribution to our national economic prosperity.(Read more about Crook's motion on ABC News here. )

The amendment, introduced by Liberal MP Dr Mal Washer, was the following:

That the House: deletes paragraph (2) of the motion and substitutes:

(2) calls on the Government to refer the matter of the minimum share of GST allocated to Western Australia to the GST Distribution Review for further consideration and analysis.

One member, Mr Crook, rebelled and crossed the floor to vote 'no' to Dr Washer's amendment with the Government.(Read more about what it means to cross the floor in our FAQ Section.)


Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Tony Crook voted No against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (93% turnout) 0 Yes 66 No
Dick Adams Lyons No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
David Bradbury Lindsay No
Gai Brodtmann Canberra No
Tony Burke Watson No
Mark Butler Port Adelaide No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Nick Champion Wakefield No
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Greg Combet Charlton No
Simon Crean Hotham No
Yvette D'Ath Petrie No
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Kate Ellis Adelaide No
Craig Emerson Rankin No
Laurie Ferguson Werriwa No
Martin Ferguson Batman No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith No
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh No
Steve Gibbons Bendigo No
Gary Gray Brand No
Sharon Grierson Newcastle No
Alan Griffin Bruce No
Jill Hall Shortland No
Chris Hayes Fowler No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Stephen Jones Throsby No
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Andrew Leigh Fraser No
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia No
Geoff Lyons Bass No
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga No
Richard Marles Corio No
Daryl Melham Banks No
Rob Mitchell McEwen No
John Murphy Reid No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Melissa Parke Fremantle No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Bernie Ripoll Oxley No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Michelle Rowland Greenway No
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand No
Kevin Rudd Griffith No
Janelle Saffin Page No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
Sid Sidebottom Braddon No
Stephen Smith Perth No
Laura Smyth La Trobe No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Wayne Swan Lilley No
Mike Symon Deakin No
Craig Thomson Dobell No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Julia Gillard Lalor Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Absent
Robert McClelland Barton Absent
Deborah O'Neill Robertson Absent
Kelvin Thomson Wills Absent
Natasha Griggs Solomon Country Liberal Party Yes
Anna Burke Chisholm Deputy Speaker No
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent No
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent No
Tony Windsor New England Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Absent
Liberal Party (56% turnout) 33 Yes 0 No
John Alexander Bennelong Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Jamie Briggs Mayo Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Teresa Gambaro Brisbane Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Michael Keenan Stirling Yes
Craig Kelly Hughes Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Macquarie Yes
Russell Matheson Macarthur Yes
Jane Prentice Ryan Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Wyatt Roy Longman Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Alan Tudge Aston Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
Tony Abbott Warringah Absent
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Absent
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Absent
Joanna Gash Gilmore Absent
Barry Haase Durack Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Steve Irons Swan Absent
Ewen Jones Herbert Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Ian Macfarlane Groom Absent
Sophie Mirabella Indi Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Judi Moylan Pearce Absent
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins Absent
Rowan Ramsey Grey Absent
Don Randall Canning Absent
Andrew Robb Goldstein Absent
Stuart Robert Fadden Absent
Philip Ruddock Berowra Absent
Andrew Southcott Boothby Absent
Sharman Stone Murray Absent
Bert Van Manen Forde Absent
National Party (58% turnout) 6 Yes 1 No
Mark Coulton Parkes Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
Tony Crook O'Connor No
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
George Christensen Dawson Absent
John Cobb Calare Absent
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Paul Neville Hinkler Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Speaker No
Peter Slipper Fisher Speaker Absent
Totals (76% turnout) 40 Yes – 74 No