The majority voted in favour of a motion that the words which Greens MP Adam Bandt wanted to omit remain unchanged. By voting 'aye' for this motion, the majority supported the wording of the original motion and rejected Mr Bandt's amendment to it.

Mr Bandt's amendment was to Liberal MP Peter Dutton's original motion:(Read Mr Bandt's full explanation of his amendment here. ) That paragraph 2 be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“(2) requires the Government to:

(a) expand ongoing primary health care programmes to target those in need, the vulnerable and long-term clientele working with the community and NGO sector;

(b) provide alternatives to emergency department treatment such as multi-disciplinary community-based sub-acute services that supports ‘stepped’ (two-staged) prevention and recovery care;

(c) establish a national network of one-stop shop community mental health centres;

(d) provide additional training for GPs and nurses to triage mental health;

(e) expand the number of headspace centres to a minimum of 90 nationally;

(f) establish a national network of 20 EPPIC centres;

(g) provide an additional 800 beds for mental health, associated with the EPPIC centres;

(h) appropriate funds necessary to provide these critical steps to expanding mental health treatment facilities; and

(i) immediately provide additional funds for existing headspace centres, respite treatment and primary health care programmes; and”

One member, Nationals MP Tony Crook, rebelled and crossed the floor to vote 'no' with the Greens.(Read more about what it means to cross the floor in our FAQ Section.)


Votes Passed by a large majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Tony Crook voted No against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Adam Bandt Melbourne Australian Greens No
Australian Labor Party (96% turnout) 67 Yes 0 No
Dick Adams Lyons Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
David Bradbury Lindsay Yes
Gai Brodtmann Canberra Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Mark Butler Port Adelaide Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Nick Champion Wakefield Yes
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Greg Combet Charlton Yes
Simon Crean Hotham Yes
Yvette D'Ath Petrie Yes
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Kate Ellis Adelaide Yes
Craig Emerson Rankin Yes
Laurie Ferguson Werriwa Yes
Martin Ferguson Batman Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith Yes
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Yes
Steve Gibbons Bendigo Yes
Julia Gillard Lalor Yes
Gary Gray Brand Yes
Sharon Grierson Newcastle Yes
Alan Griffin Bruce Yes
Jill Hall Shortland Yes
Chris Hayes Fowler Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Throsby Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Andrew Leigh Fraser Yes
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia Yes
Geoff Lyons Bass Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Robert McClelland Barton Yes
Daryl Melham Banks Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
John Murphy Reid Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Deborah O'Neill Robertson Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Melissa Parke Fremantle Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Bernie Ripoll Oxley Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand Yes
Janelle Saffin Page Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Sid Sidebottom Braddon Yes
Stephen Smith Perth Yes
Laura Smyth La Trobe Yes
Wayne Swan Lilley Yes
Mike Symon Deakin Yes
Craig Thomson Dobell Yes
Kelvin Thomson Wills Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Kevin Rudd Griffith Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Natasha Griggs Solomon Country Liberal Party Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Deputy Speaker Yes
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Denison Independent No
Tony Windsor New England Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Absent
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 45 Yes 0 No
John Alexander Bennelong Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Josh Frydenberg Kooyong Yes
Joanna Gash Gilmore Yes
Barry Haase Durack Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Steve Irons Swan Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Craig Kelly Hughes Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Macquarie Yes
Russell Matheson Macarthur Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Judi Moylan Pearce Yes
Kelly O'Dwyer Higgins Yes
Jane Prentice Ryan Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Wyatt Roy Longman Yes
Philip Ruddock Berowra Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Yes
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Yes
Andrew Southcott Boothby Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Ken Wyatt Hasluck Yes
Tony Abbott Warringah Absent
Julie Bishop Curtin Absent
Jamie Briggs Mayo Absent
Teresa Gambaro Brisbane Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Ewen Jones Herbert Absent
Michael Keenan Stirling Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Sophie Mirabella Indi Absent
Andrew Robb Goldstein Absent
Alby Schultz Hume Absent
Tony Smith Casey Absent
Sharman Stone Murray Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Absent
National Party (92% turnout) 10 Yes 1 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
George Christensen Dawson Yes
John Cobb Calare Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Paul Neville Hinkler Yes
Ken O'Dowd Flynn Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
Tony Crook O'Connor No
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Speaker Absent
Totals (85% turnout) 123 Yes – 5 No