How Tony Sheldon voted compared to someone who believes that the federal government should close its Manus Regional Processing Centre and stop all Manus-based processing of people's claims for asylum

Division Tony Sheldon Supporters vote Division outcome

26th Aug 2020, 4:14 PM – Senate Motions - Immigration Detention - Moment of silence for deaths

Show detail

The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Nick McKim (Greens), also on behalf of SA Senator Stirling Griff (Centre Alliance). This means the motion failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) 19 July 2020 was the seventh anniversary of the introduction of Australia's current policy of offshore detention,

(ii) on 19 July 2013, then Prime Minister Kevin Rudd announced his Government had entered into a regional resettlement arrangement with Papua New Guinea, which would reintroduce offshore processing and detention for people seeking asylum who arrived by sea, and

(iii) since this arrangement was entered into, the following 13 people who were sent to Manus Island or Nauru by Australia under its offshore detention system have died: Reza Barati (2014); Sayed Ibrahim Hussein (2014); Hamid Kehazaei (2014); Omid Masoumali (2016); Rakib Khan (2016); Kamil Hussain (2016); Faysal Ishak Ahmed (2016); Hamed Shamshiripour (2017); Rajeev Rajendran (2017); Jahingir (2017); Salim Kyawning (2018); Fariborz Karami (2018); and Sayed Mirwais Rohani (2019);

(b) expresses sincere condolences to the families and friends of these men who died while subject to Australia's offshore detention policy; and

(c) at the passing of this motion rises and spends a moment in silence to reflect on the deaths that have occurred in Australia's current offshore detention system.

Yes Yes Not passed by a small majority

How "voted very strongly for" is worked out

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, 0 points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, 0 points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Then, the number gets converted to a simple english language phrase based on the range of values it's within.

No of votes Points Out of
Most important votes (50 points)      
MP voted with policy 0 0 0
MP voted against policy 0 0 0
MP absent 0 0 0
Less important votes (10 points)      
MP voted with policy 1 10 10
MP voted against policy 0 0 0
Less important absentees (2 points)      
MP absent* 0 0 0
Total: 10 10

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Senators are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

Agreement score = MP's points / total points = 10 / 10 = 100%.

And then