The majority voted against a motion:

That the Migration Amendment (Graduate Visas) Regulations 2024, made under the Migration Act 1958, be disallowed [F2024L00748].

This means the regulations will remain in force.

What do these Regulations do?

NSW Senator Mehreen Faruqi (Greens), who introduced the bill, explained that:

These regulations are yet another cruel blow to international students from the Albanese government and yet another example of their absolute disregard for the wellbeing of international students. These regulations concern the 485 temporary graduate visa, which provides the opportunity for international students who have recently graduated from Australian educational institutions to remain here to live and to work temporarily, following the completion of their studies. These regulations reduce the length of stay permitted under this visa and also close the subclass 476 visa, which provides engineering graduates with the chance to work in skilled occupations in this country for up to 18 months.

Of most concern, however, is the government's decision to reduce the age limit of these visas from 50 years to 35 years. The government went some way to amending this really bad policy when it backflipped on its previous position and created a carve-out so that PhD and master's by research students were not subject to this age reduction, but bachelor's and master's by coursework students will still not be eligible for a temporary graduate visa, even those who are graduating this semester, if they are older than 35 years. This just shows the complete lack of thought and consideration that is put into devising these policies, when the government has to backtrack on a big chunk of this policy after having announced it. It's a classic example of policy on the run.

According to the explanatory memorandum:

The Migration Amendment (Graduate Visas) Regulations 2024 (the amending Regulations) amend the Migration Regulations 1994 (the Migration Regulations) to simplify the Temporary Graduate visa program as outlined in the Migration Strategy released 11 December 2023 and combined with other policy measures, will help return migration to near pre-pandemic levels by next financial year. Specifically, this involves changes to the Subclass 485 (Temporary Graduate) visa, including the streams, and the closure of the Subclass 476 (Skilled-Recognised Graduate) visa.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Steph Hodgins-May Victoria Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (88% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Lisa Darmanin Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Varun Ghosh WA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (22% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dave Sharma NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (50% turnout) 11 Yes – 27 No