The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Anthony Chisholm (Labor), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that in response to orders relating to the National Disability Insurance Scheme Financial Sustainability Framework (orders nos 229, 253 and 315) ministers have:

(i) provided relevant documents,

(ii) advised that documents do not exist,

(iii) sought additional time to process or review documents, or

(iv) raised a public interest immunity claim on the established ground that release of documents would be detrimental to relations between the Commonwealth and the states and territories;

(b) notes that on 16 October 2023 the Minister representing the Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme complied with the order of 14 September 2023 which required him to provide an explanation to the Senate in relation to these matters;

(c) notes that on 8 February 2024 the Minster representing the Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme tabled the report of the Independent National Disability Insurance Scheme review; and

(d) resolves that Minister representing the Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme is satisfactorily complying with his obligations to respond to its orders and discharges him from the requirement to attend the Senate to provide an explanation on the first day of each sitting week.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Varun Ghosh WA Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent No
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Alex Antic SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dave Sharma NSW No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (76% turnout) 18 Yes – 40 No