The majority voted in favour of amendments introduced by Victorian Senator Lidia Thorpe (Greens), which means they failed.

Amendment text

SHEET 2373

(1) Schedule 1, item 19, page 18 (lines 3 to 11), omit the item, substitute:

19 Section 125B

Repeal the section, substitute:

125B Giving employees the Casual Employment Information Statement

(1) An employer must give a casual employee the Casual Employment Information Statement:

(a) before, or as soon as practicable after, the employee starts employment as a casual employee with the employer; and

(b) as soon as practicable after the employee has been employed by the employer for a period of 6 months beginning the day the employment started; and

(c) as soon as practicable after the following:

(i) the employee has been employed by the employer for a period of 12 months beginning the day the employment started;

(ii) the end of any subsequent period of 12 months for which the employee is employed by the employer.

(2) However, paragraph (1)(b) and subparagraph (1)(c)(ii) do not apply if at the time the employer has employed the employee for the period referred to in that paragraph or subparagraph, the employer is a small business employer.

(3) This section does not, apart from the operation of paragraph (1)(b), require the employer to give the employee the Statement more than once in any 12 months.

Note: This is relevant if the employer employs the employee more than once in the 12 months.

(2) Schedule 1, page 18 (after line 11), after item 19, insert:

19A Paragraph 333E(1) (c)

Repeal the paragraph, substitute:

(c) the employee is not a casual employee of the employer for whom the period referred to in paragraph (b) is identified by reference to the completion of the shift of work to which the contract relates; and

(3) Schedule 1, item 308, page 170 (lines 17 to 20), omit subclause 102(4) of Schedule 1.

SHEET 2374

(1) Schedule 1, item 14, page 12 (after line 32), after subsection 66L(2), insert:

(3) To avoid doubt, each of the following is a workplace right within the meaning of Part 3-1:

(a) giving an employer a notification under section 66AAB;

(b) receiving a response from an employer in accordance with section 66AAC;

(c) being taken to be a full-time employee or part-time employee under section 66AAD;

(d) receiving an offer or notice in accordance with sections 66B and 66C;

(e) accepting an offer and receiving a notice under section 66E;

(f) participating in a dispute about the operation of this Division in accordance with sections 66M and 66MA.

Note: The general protections provisions in Part 3-1 prohibit adverse action, coercion, undue influence or pressure, and misrepresentations because of a workplace right of an employee.

(2) Schedule 1, page 18 (after line 11), after item 19, insert:

19A After paragraph 341(2)(i)


(ia) giving a notification, or receiving an offer or notice, under Division 4A of Part 2-2 (which deals with casual employment);

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Varun Ghosh WA Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Tony Sheldon NSW Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Alex Antic SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dave Sharma NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (79% turnout) 34 Yes – 26 No