The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Murray Watt (Labor), which means it succeeded.

Motion text

That in order to provide for the consideration of the Fair Work Legislation Amendment (Closing Loopholes No. 2) Bill 2023

(a) today:

(i) the hours of meeting be 9 am till adjournment,

(ii) the routine of business after the tabling and consideration of committee reports and government responses be consideration of the bill (second reading speeches only) for not more than 3 hours, after which the Senate adjourn without debate; and,

(b) on Thursday, 8 February 2024:

(i) after formal motions, the question on the second reading of the bill be put, after which the routine of business till 1.30 pm be consideration of the bill only,

(ii) the questions on all remaining stages of the bill be put at 3.30 pm,

(iii) paragraphs (i) and (ii) operate as limitations of debate under standing order 142,

(iv) divisions may take place after 4.30 pm until consideration of the bill is concluded; and

(v) after consideration of the bill has concluded, the Senate return to its routine of business.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (82% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Absent
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Varun Ghosh WA Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dave Sharma NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (76% turnout) 30 Yes – 28 No