The majority voted in favour of a motion to pass the bill as amended in the Senate. In parliamentary jargon, they voted to read the bill a third time. The bill will now return to the House of Representatives where our MPs will decide on whether they agree with the amendments.

What is the bill's main idea?

According to the bills digest:

The Fair Work Legislation Amendment (Closing Loopholes) Bill 2023 will amend the Fair Work Act 2009 and related legislation to enact a wide range of measures, most notably including:

  • introducing a new definition of casual employee and an employee choice pathway for eligible casual employees to change to permanent employment, if they wish to do so

  • effectively reinstating the ‘multi-factorial’ test previously applied by courts and tribunals to determine if a worker is an employee or independent contractor

  • preventing enterprise agreement wages from being undercut by the use of labour hire (‘same job, same pay’)

  • introducing a new criminal offence for intentional wage theft

  • allowing the Fair Work Commission to set minimum standards for some (but not all) ‘gig economy’ workers and road transport industry workers

  • introducing a new Commonwealth criminal offence of industrial manslaughter

  • introducing a rebuttable presumption that a first responder’s employment significantly contributed to the contraction of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and

  • various other measures related to prohibiting discrimination against employees who have been, or continue to be, subjected to family and domestic violence; changing the defence to ‘sham contracting’ from a test of ‘recklessness’ to one of ‘reasonableness’; and a range of other workplace relations measures, which are not examined in this Digest.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (73% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dave Sharma NSW No
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (75% turnout) 32 Yes – 25 No