The majority voted in favour of keeping the following items in the bill as they are:

  • items 2, 3, 6, 19 and part 3 of schedule 1;
  • items 8, 9, 18, 19, 22, 23, 45 to 47, 56 and 57 of schedule 2; and
  • items 12 to 14, 16, 40 to 42, 53, 54, 60 and 63 to 74 and section 7.08B in item 21 of schedule 2.

In parliamentary jargon, they voted that they 'stand as printed'. This vote was put after the opposition proposed that all those items be opposed.

Several of these items relate to held environmental water (HEW), which are "water access entitlements that are specifically set aside and managed for environmental purposes" (see the bills digest for more information).


Note that Victorian Senator David Van (Independent) is currently showing up as a rebel voter from the Liberal Party in this division (as of 13/12/2023). This is inaccurate, as Senator Van is no longer in the Liberal Party.

Votes Passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • David Van voted Yes against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (91% turnout) 1 Yes 20 No
David Van Victoria Yes
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Claire Chandler Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Dave Sharma NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (82% turnout) 35 Yes – 27 No