The majority voted against a motion introduced by ACT Senator David Pocock (Independent), which means it failed.


There was one rebellion, with West Australian Senator Linda Reynolds (Liberal) voting Yes against the rest of her party.

Motion text

That there be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Minister for Home Affairs, by no later than 1 pm on 30 November 2023, the following:

(a) the total dollar amount of funding provided to the Papua New Guinea Immigration and Citizenship Services Authority (the Authority) or other entities under the 'Funding Arrangement Supporting Papua New Guinea's Independent Management of the Residual Regional Processing Caseload' (the funding arrangement), signed in December 2021;

(b) the schedule of payments, including dates and dollar amount of all monies paid to date, to the Authority or other entities associated with the funding arrangement, including the details of the entity to whom these payments were made;

(c) any correspondence between the Department of Home Affairs, Australian Border Force, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade or any other Australian Government agency relating to the requirements for financial reporting, acquittal or auditing of expenditure under the funding arrangement;

(d) all documentation relating to the fraud and corruption prevention activities and planning undertaken in relation to the funding arrangement, in line with the Commonwealth Fraud Control Framework;

(e) any correspondence from, to or between Australian Government officials relating to concerns about fraud and corruption (actual or prospective) in the expenditure of the funding arrangement;

(f) any agreements or correspondence with the Authority or other entities outlining or negotiating the healthcare, welfare accommodation or other services to be provided to the 'residual caseload' under the funding arrangement, and the period for which these were to be provided; and

(g) any correspondence or representations from, to or between Australian Government officials and the Authority regarding current funding shortfalls or debts to Papua New Guinean businesses that may be considered to be related to the funding arrangement.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (91% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (36% turnout) 1 Yes 7 No
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (53% turnout) 15 Yes – 25 No