The majority voted in favour of a motion to agree with the main idea of the bill. In parliamentary jargon, they voted to read the bill for a second time. This means they can now consider the bill in more detail.

What does this bill do?

According to the bills digest:

  • The main purpose of the Counter-Terrorism and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2023 (the Bill) is to extend provisions relating to control orders, preventative detention orders and terrorism-related stop, search and seizure powers, currently due to sunset on 7 December 2023, for a further three years to 7 December 2026.
  • These powers have been subject to sunset clauses since their enactment in 2005 and this will be the fifth time in which they have been extended.
  • The Bill will also implement the Government’s response to certain recommendations made by the Independent National Security Legislation Monitor (INSLM) and the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security (PJCIS) in their most recent reviews of those provisions. Both the INSLM and the PJCIS recommended that stronger safeguards be imposed with respect to these powers.
  • The Bill will also amend the list of conditions that may be imposed as part of the control orders scheme to give the court the discretion to impose ‘a very broad range of conditions directed at all aspects of a person’s life’.
  • Stakeholders, including the Law Council of Australia and the Australian Human Rights Commission, have previously raised concerns about the operation and extension of these provisions.
  • Parliamentary committees, including the Senate Standing Committee on the Scrutiny of Bills and the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights, have also previously raised concerns about these powers, including the justification for their extension.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (82% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Dorinda Cox WA Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (14% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (45% turnout) 25 Yes – 9 No