The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Wendy Askew (Liberal), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) order for the production of documents no. 350, agreed to by the Senate on 17 October 2023, relating to communications between CBUS Super Fund and the Treasurer and his office, has not been complied with,

(ii) the Treasurer, in his response to the order, dated 6 November 2023, made a claim of public interest immunity on the basis that the documents sought are commercial in confidence, and

(iii) the Senate has made it clear in its resolution of 30 October 2003 that a claim on this ground must be based on specified potential harm to commercial interests and any claim of commercial confidentiality must be accompanied by an explanation of the ensuing harm from disclosure; and

(b) rejects the public interest immunity claim made by the Treasurer, noting that:

(i) the claim that disclosure would provide an 'unfair insight into CBUS' private opinions and business affairs' is not a sufficient explanation of any ensuing harm from disclosure,

(ii) the claim that disclosure of commercial in confidence information has the potential to 'damage the frankness and candour of future consultation processes' is not a sufficient explanation of any ensuing harm from disclosure, and

(iii) the public interest in disclosing the documents outweighs any potential effect on the commercial affairs of CBUS; and

(c) requires the Minister representing the Treasurer to comply with the order by no later than midday on Monday, 13 November 2023.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (86% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (81% turnout) 30 Yes – 31 No