The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Wendy Askew (Liberal), which means it succeeded.

Motion text

That the Senate:

1. Notes that:

a. The Senate Economics Legislation Committee resolved that questions taken on notice during Budget Estimates in May 2023 be provided to the Committee by 14 July 2023.

b. There were 12 responses to questions on notice from Budget Estimates in May 2023 tabled the day before or the day of the commencement of Treasury portfolio Additional Budget Estimates on 25 October 2023;

c. There were a further four responses to questions taken on notice that had not been provided to the Committee at the commencement of Treasury portfolio additional Budget Estimates; and

d. Evidence provided to the Senate Economics Legislation Committee during Additional Budget Estimates shows that responses to all these questions were provided to the approving Minister's office by no later than 17 July 2023, and the majority by 29 June 2023.

2. Requires the Minister representing the Treasurer to attend the Chamber at following the conclusion of motions to take note of answers on Wednesday, 8 November 2023, to provide an explanation, of no more than 10 minutes, of the failure to comply with the resolution of the Senate Economics Legislation Committee;

3. Any senator may move to take note of the explanation required by paragraph 2; and

4. Any motion under paragraph 3 may be debated for no longer than 30 minutes, shall have precedence over all business until resolved, and senators may speak to the motion for not more than 10 minutes each.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Linda White Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (86% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (84% turnout) 42 Yes – 21 No