The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Wendy Askew (Liberal) at the request of West Australian Senator Michaelia Cash (Liberal), which means it failed.

Motion text


(1) There be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Attorney General, by no later than 14 days after the end of each month, an update of parole decisions by the Commonwealth Attorney-General, or their delegate.

(2) Each monthly update must include:

(a) the total number of parole applications decided during that month; and

(b) the total number of parole applications granted during that month and, in relation to each application granted:

(i) the state or territory in which the person was imprisoned,

(ii) any previous grant of parole (if known),

(iii) offence(s) committed,

(iv) whether the grant of parole related to sexual assault, child abuse or child pornography offences,

(v) whether the grant of parole related to terrorism offences,

(vi) date of sentencing,

(vii) duration of sentence given including:

(A) length of any non-parole period, and

(B) total duration of sentence, and

(viii) whether the decision made to grant the parole was made by a departmental official or the Attorney-General, and

(ix) if the decision was made by the Attorney-General, whether the decision followed the recommendation provided by the Department.

(3) This order is of continuing effect.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (95% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (87% turnout) 31 Yes – 34 No