The majority voted in favour of the motion below, which means it succeeded.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) on 11 May 2023, the Senate ordered the Minister representing the Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme to table the NDIS Financial Sustainability Framework (order 229), and the Government's response advised that while National Cabinet had agreed to develop a framework, the document did not yet exist,

(ii) on 19 June 2023, the Senate again ordered that the NDIS Financial Sustainability Framework be tabled, by the Minister Representing the Treasurer (order 253), and the Government's response advised that on 28 April 2023 National Cabinet committed to the framework, and made a public interest immunity (PII) claim over the document prepared for that meeting, asserting that its release would be detrimental to relations between the Commonwealth and the states and territories,

(iii) on 22 June 2023, the Senate rejected the PII claim and ordered the Minister representing the Treasurer to comply with the order, and in response the Government again refused to comply, maintaining its PII claim, and

(iv) on 28 August 2023, an Australian media outlet confirmed that their freedom of information request for financial information related to the NDIS Financial Sustainability Framework was rejected by the Department of Social Services, the Treasury and the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet;

(b) reiterates its rejection of the PII claim made by the Minister representing the Treasurer, noting that the public interest in disclosing the document outweighs any potential prejudice to relations between the Commonwealth and the states and territories; and

(c) orders that the Minister representing the Treasurer attend the Senate following the conclusion of motions to take note of answers on 6 September 2023 to provide an explanation of the failure to comply with orders 229 and 253, and the order of 22 June 2023, and:

(i) any senator may move to take note of the explanation, and

(ii) any such motion may be debated for no longer than 30 minutes, shall have precedence over all other business until determined, and senators may speak to the motion for not more than 5 minutes each.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Linda White Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Marielle Smith SA Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (79% turnout) 40 Yes – 20 No