The majority voted against amendments introduced by Tasmanian Senator Nick McKim (Greens), which means they failed. The amendments related to civil penalties and indemnities for accountable persons.

There was one rebel voted, with Queensland Senator Gerard Rennick (Queensland) voting Yes against the rest of his party.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 4, page 4 (line 7), omit "or by the Regulator through disqualification", substitute "by the Regulator through disqualification, or through civil penalties for non-compliance".

(2) Clause 14, page 18 (line 12), omit "or disqualification by the Regulator", substitute ", disqualification by the Regulator, or civil penalties for non-compliance".

(3) Clause 18, page 22 (after line 6), at the end of subclause (1), add:

Note: Failure to comply with an obligation under this Chapter is a contravention of a civil penalty provision (see section 80).

(4) Clause 35, page 42 (line 7), after "disqualified", insert "or liable to a civil penalty".

(5) Clause 40, page 49 (after line 17), after paragraph (4)(e), insert:

(ea) details of any civil penalty order made against the person for a contravention of a civil penalty provision of this Act; and

(6) Clause 80, page 85 (after line 12), at the end of the clause, add:

(3) A person contravenes this subsection if:

(a) the person is an accountable person of:

(i) an accountable entity that is a medium or large banking entity; or

(ii) an accountable entity that is not an ADI or an authorised NOHC of an ADI; and

(b) the person is subject to an obligation under Chapter 2 in relation to the entity; and

(c) the person fails to comply with the obligation.

Note: It is generally not necessary to prove a person's state of mind in proceedings for a contravention of a civil penalty provision (see section 94 of the Regulatory Powers Act, which applies because of section 82 of this Act).

(4) A person is liable to a civil penalty if the person contravenes subsection (3).

(5) In this section:

medium or large banking entity means:

(a) an ADI that is, immediately before the day that is 6 months after this Act commences, a medium ADI or large ADI under the Banking Act 1959; or

(b) an authorised NOHC of such an ADI.

(7) Clause 83, page 88 (line 9), omit "Note 1", substitute "Note".

(8) Clause 83, page 88 (lines 11 and 12), omit note 2 to subclause (3).

(9) Heading to clause 97, page 102 (line 24), at the end of the heading, add "and accountable persons".

(10) Clause 97, page 102 (after line 32), after subclause (1), insert:

(1A) An accountable entity, or a significant related entity of an accountable entity, must not (whether by agreement or by making a payment, and whether directly or through an interposed entity):

(a) indemnify a person who is or was an accountable person of:

(i) the accountable entity; or

(ii) a significant related entity of the accountable entity;

against the consequences of breaching an obligation under this Act; or

(b) pay, or agree to pay, a premium for a contract insuring such a person against the consequences of breaching an obligation under this Act.

(11) Clause 97, page 103 (line 1), omit "Subsection (1) does not", substitute "Subsections (1) and (1A) do not".

(12) Clause 97, page 103 (line 4), at the end of subclause (3), add "or (1A)".

(13) Clause 97, page 103 (lines 6 to 9), omit paragraph (4)(a), substitute:

(a) subsections (1) and (1A) apply to a related body corporate (other than a significant related entity) of an accountable entity in the same way as they apply to a significant related entity of the accountable entity; and

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President No
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (39% turnout) 1 Yes 8 No
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (63% turnout) 17 Yes – 31 No