The majority voted against amendments introduced by WA Senator Michaelia Cash (Liberal), which means they failed.

What did these amendments do?

Senator Cash explained that:

These amendments will remove clause 16B(1)(c) of the bill as passed on the third reading in the House, which removes the mandate for four employer organisation representatives on the ministerial advisory board of Jobs and Skills Australia. In its place, however, our amendment creates new subsections mandating a representative for small business and two members representing the interests of rural, remote and regional Australia. The amendment will also add section 16B(2), which ensures that each state and the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory must be geographically represented within the distribution of the board members chosen under section 16B(1).

The amendments amend subsection (1) of section 29A of the bill to ensure that the review into the operation of the act commences before the end of the period of 12 months, instead of the two-year period currently scheduled in the bill.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, item 31, page 9 (line 28), omit paragraph 16B(1)(c).

(2) Schedule 1, item 31, page 9 (after line 29), after paragraph 16B(1)(d), insert:

(da) 1 member representing small business;

(db) 2 members representing regional, rural and remote Australia;

(3) Schedule 1, item 31, page 9 (after line 32), after subsection 16B(2), insert:

(2A) In appointing the members of the Ministerial Advisory Board, the Minister must ensure that the members include a representative from each State, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

(4) Schedule 1, item 37, page 18 (line 4), omit "2 years", substitute "12 months".

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (82% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent No
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (74% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (80% turnout) 27 Yes – 34 No