The majority voted in favour of a motion "that part 4 of schedule 1 stand as printed." In other words, they voted to keep that part unchanged. This vote took place after NSW Senator David Shoebridge (Greens) introduced a motion to oppose that part.

Why did the Greens Party oppose this part?

Part 4 of Schedule 1 relates to spent convictions. According to the bills digest:

Spent convictions are those criminal convictions which may no longer be disclosed on a person’s record because a period of time has elapsed (for example, 10 years) where no further reoffending has occurred. There are some exceptions to the ‘automatic spending of convictions’. For example, some sexual assault offences may never be spent and are thus always disclosable. Each state and territory (as well as the Commonwealth) has its own spent convictions legislation (or ‘scheme’) that defines a spent conviction and sets out the exemptions that apply.

Senator Shoebridge explained that the Greens seek:

to remove from the bill the provisions that give expanded power to ASIO to use, record and disclose spent convictions information. ... The purpose of the spent convictions regime is to allow people to get on with their lives after they've been convicted of a more minor offence so that, after 10 years, that offence doesn't keep coming back and haunting them.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (82% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Karen Grogan SA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (30% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Wendy Askew Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (57% turnout) 34 Yes – 9 No