The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Pauline Hanson, which means it failed.

Note that the Liberal Party was split on this motion, with some voting for and others against.

Motion text

(1) That the following matter be referred to the Community Affairs References Committee for inquiry and report by 16 October 2023:

Treatment options for children and young people with gender dysphoria in Australia, with particular reference to:

(a) whether children are being rushed into gender reassignment treatment, as has been suggested by University of Queensland Law Professor Patrick Parkinson;

(b) whether psychiatrists, such as Dr Jillian Spencer, a senior staff specialist in the Queensland Children's Hospital's consultation liaison psychiatry team, who question the use of puberty blockers without an appropriate mental health assessment, are being silenced;

(c) whether children are being over-diagnosed with gender dysphoria without proper consultation or mental health assessment;

(d) whether Australia should follow the United Kingdom and many European countries in adopting a more cautious approach to the prescription of puberty blocking drugs, amid concerns the evidence base for their efficacy is lacking;

(e) whether the Commonwealth should take a greater oversight and regulatory role in the prescription of puberty blockers and cross-sex hormones to children, following the admission from the Federal Government that it has no idea how widely the drugs are being prescribed off-label for gender dysphoria; and

(f) any other related matters.

(2) That any hearings held in relation to this inquiry must be held in camera.

Myths and misconceptions

Note that this motion alludes to several common myths and misconceptions about healthcare for young gender diverse people. If you are interested in learning more about current best practice for treating transgender and non-binary children and adolescents (and the evidence this practice is based on), see the Standards of Care published by the World Professional Association for Transgender Health (WPATH).

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There were 5 rebellions in this division.

  • Simon Birmingham voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Andrew Bragg voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Jane Hume voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Maria Kovacic voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
  • Dean Smith voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (82% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Absent
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (88% turnout) 0 Yes 22 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (0% turnout) Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (87% turnout) 15 Yes 5 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Simon Birmingham SA No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (83% turnout) 25 Yes – 38 No