The majority voted in favour of an amendment introduced by South Australian Senator Anne Ruston (ACT), which means it passed.

Amendment text

At the end of the motion, add: "and, in respect of the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government)Amendment Bill 2023 the bill be referred immediately to the Legal and Constitutional Affairs Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 9 August 2023".

What is Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Amendment Bill 2023?

The bill was introduced by Queensland Senator Matthew Canavan (LNP) and, according to the explanatory memorandum (which is a political document prepared by the party moving the bill and not the parliamentary library):

On 11 May 2023 the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Government announced it would be acquiring Calvary Public Hospital, its land and its assets, effectively terminating their remaining 76-year contract and forcibly transferring Calvary staff employed at the public hospital to ACT Health.

This decision was made with no consultation, and no inquiry by the Legislative Assembly prior to the announcement.

This has resulted in significant public outcry well beyond the borders of the ACT and legitimately raised questions about the precedent this action creates, for example for faith-based schools in the future.

The purpose of this Bill is to insert a requirement that the ACT Government conduct an inquiry into the ACT legislation that enables the acquisition. This does not impact on the ACT Government’s rights to make decisions, it is intended to ensure that there is public consultation with the decision that has been made, so that people have the ability to have their voices heard.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Penny Wong SA No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (87% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (79% turnout) 39 Yes – 21 No