The majority voted against an amendment introduced by ACT Senator Katy Gallagher (Labor), which means it was unsuccessful.

Amendment text

At the end of the motion, add "and the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Amendment Bill 2023 not be referred to a committee".

What is Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Amendment Bill 2023?

The bill was introduced by Queensland Senator Matthew Canavan (LNP) and, according to the explanatory memorandum (which is a political document prepared by the party moving the bill and not the parliamentary library):

On 11 May 2023 the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Government announced it would be acquiring Calvary Public Hospital, its land and its assets, effectively terminating their remaining 76-year contract and forcibly transferring Calvary staff employed at the public hospital to ACT Health.

This decision was made with no consultation, and no inquiry by the Legislative Assembly prior to the announcement.

This has resulted in significant public outcry well beyond the borders of the ACT and legitimately raised questions about the precedent this action creates, for example for faith-based schools in the future.

The purpose of this Bill is to insert a requirement that the ACT Government conduct an inquiry into the ACT legislation that enables the acquisition. This does not impact on the ACT Government’s rights to make decisions, it is intended to ensure that there is public consultation with the decision that has been made, so that people have the ability to have their voices heard.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Nita Green Queensland Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Fatima Payman WA Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party No
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Absent
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (87% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Alex Antic SA No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Andrew Bragg NSW No
Slade Brockman WA No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Hollie Hughes NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Maria Kovacic NSW No
Kerrynne Liddle SA No
Matt O'Sullivan WA No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Gerard Rennick Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Paul Scarr Queensland No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Perin Davey NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (80% turnout) 22 Yes – 39 No