A large majority supported passing the bill in the Senate. In parliamentary jargon, they voted to give it a third reading. Since the bill had already passed in the House of Representatives, it will now become law.

What does the bill do?

According to the explanatory memorandum:

The purpose of the Bill is to better support data collection and other related measures being implemented as part of the VET Data Streamlining (VDS) reforms.

The Bill seeks to amend the National Vocational Education and Training Regulator Act 2011 (the Act) to support data collection and arrangements in relation to the use and disclosure of Vocational Education Training (VET) data and will allow skills ministers to delegate their powers to agree to all, or parts, of the National Vocational Education and Training Regulator ( Data Provision Requirements) Instrument 2020 (the DPRs) to other individuals or bodies, such as senior officials of the Commonwealth and States and Territories.

The amendments will ensure that the information collected from students and training providers, and the data systems being built to facilitate the transfer of that data into the national Vocational Education and Training (VET) data set, are flexible and responsive to the needs of governments and other users of VET data.

Note that the explanatory memorandum is a document that is written by Members of Parliament and not the parliamentary library, so are often biased in favour of the bill they are describing.

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Tim Ayres NSW Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Raff Ciccone Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Fatima Payman WA Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Tony Sheldon NSW Yes
Marielle Smith SA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Jana Stewart Victoria Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jess Walsh Victoria Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Linda White Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (30% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Sarah Henderson Victoria Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Sue Lines WA President Yes
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party No
Totals (62% turnout) 44 Yes – 3 No