The majority voted against amendments (1) to (5), introduced by NSW Senator Andrew Bragg (Liberal), which means they were not successful. The amendments would have removed the requirement that training must be delivered by a registered provider to be eligible for the bonus deduction (up to a maximum of $20,000).

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 4, item 1, page 39 (after line 21), after subsection 328-445(3), insert:

Limit on deductions relating to training provided by non-registered training providers

(3A) Despite subsections (1) to (3), the total of your deductions under this section for an income year in relation to expenditure that is not covered by subsection (3B) cannot exceed $20,000.

(3B) This subsection covers expenditure you incur for any of the training mentioned in section 328-450 provided by a particular provider if, at the time you incur the expenditure:

(a) the provider is a registered body of any of the following kinds:

(i) a registered higher education provider (within the meaning of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Act 2011);

(ii) a NVR registered training organisation (within the meaning of the National Vocational Education and Training Regulator Act 2011);

(iii) a registered education and training organisation (within the meaning of the Education and Training Reform Act 2006 (Vic.));

(iv) a registered training provider (within the meaning of the Vocational Education and Training Act 1996 (WA)); and

(b) if the provider is a registered body of a kind mentioned in paragraph (a)(ii), (iii) or (iv)—the training is within the provider's scope of registration for that kind of registered body.

(2) Schedule 4, item 1, page 40 (line 10), omit "(1)".

(3) Schedule 4, item 1, page 40 (lines 15 to 22), omit paragraph 328-450(1)(b).

(4) Schedule 4, item 1, page 40 (lines 31 and 32), omit the note, substitute:

Note: Paragraph (c) means this section will not apply to expenditure for training provided by you in house.

(5) Schedule 4, item 1, page 40 (line 33) to page 41 (line 11), omit subsection 328-450(2).

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Nita Green Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Linda White Victoria No
Tim Ayres NSW Absent
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (74% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Perin Davey NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Ross Cadell NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (78% turnout) 29 Yes – 30 No