The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Pauline Hanson (One Nation)

Motion text

That there be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme, by no later than midday on Thursday, 22 June 2023:

(a) all grant agreements made with National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) funding or between the NDIS or the Department of Social Services and the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Corporation (NATSIC), currently in administration with the firm known as Grant Thornton Australia; and

(b) any emails, documents or handwritten notes:

(i) relating to the decisions to enter into those grant agreements,

(ii) relating to fraud prevention or fraud identification during the grant agreements,

(iii) between the grantor and grantee,

(iv) between the Commonwealth and NATSIC,

(v) relating to any visit or meeting with the office bearers of NATSIC,

(vi) relating to any investigation by the Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations or under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006,

(vii) relating to debts owed by NATSIC resulting from non-performance of the grant agreements,

(viii) relating to Mr Jim Golden-Brown or any aliases, including Jim Sturgeon or similar spelling,

(ix) relating to Graham Aitken,

(x) relating to Harry Harun,

(xi) made by Ryan Sandeman, Grant Schulz, Kirsty Goodwin or Dick Courtney,

(xii) relating to the public interest declaration made by Ms Goodwin in respect of Ryan Sandeman,

(xiii) relating to Michael Roddan's article published in the Australian Financial Review on or around 6 February 2023, and

(xiv) between the NDIS and the NATSIC Chairman, Ian Mye.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland No
Dorinda Cox WA No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Barbara Pocock SA No
Janet Rice Victoria No
David Shoebridge NSW No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Nita Green Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Karen Grogan SA Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent No
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
David Van Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (96% turnout) 22 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Maria Kovacic NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (82% turnout) 30 Yes – 32 No