The majority voted against a motion to give the bill a second reading. In other words, they voted against its main idea, which means that the bill will no longer be considered in parliament.

What is the bill's main idea?

According to the explanatory memorandum (which is an explanatory document prepared by the party introducing the bill, in this case by Victorian Senator Janet Rice (Greens)):

The Ending Native Forest Logging Bill 2023 repeals the Regional Forest Agreements Act 2002 which enables logging of Australian native forests to continue with exemptions from our country’s environmental protection laws. It also requires statements from the Minister and Threatened Species Commissioner about the impact of native forest logging on Australia’s international commitments.

For decades our native forests have been managed under ten Regional Forest Agreements (RFAs), established between the federal government and the states. These agreements cover the majority of forest in Victoria, Tasmania, Western Australia, and New South Wales.

The stated intention of the RFAs was to provide long-term forest management to protect these complex ecosystems and ensure the viability of threatened species living in the forests, as well as govern the production of timber from these forests and maintain jobs.

They have failed to meet these intended goals, and the environmental and industrial context of the RFAs has substantially changed since they were commenced, in the late 20th century. For that reason, this Bill repeals this forest management framework.

Critically, forests covered by RFAs have had exemptions from the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (the EPBC Act). This Bill would see the application of the EPBC Act to forestry operations, ensuring the same level of environmental approvals and protections as are applied to any other extractive industry.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jess Walsh Victoria No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Raff Ciccone Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Nita Green Queensland Absent
Jana Stewart Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Absent
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Network (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania No
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Wendy Askew Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Sarah Henderson Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Alex Antic SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Andrew Bragg NSW Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Claire Chandler Tasmania Absent
Hollie Hughes NSW Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Maria Kovacic NSW Absent
Kerrynne Liddle SA Absent
Matt O'Sullivan WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Gerard Rennick Queensland Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Paul Scarr Queensland Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Ross Cadell NSW No
Perin Davey NSW No
Susan McDonald Queensland Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Sue Lines WA President Absent
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Absent
Totals (59% turnout) 13 Yes – 32 No