The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Wendy Askew (Liberal) on behalf of Victorian Senator Jane Hume (Liberal). This means it succeeded.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) order for production of documents no. 123 was agreed by the Senate on 7 February 2023, requiring the Minister for Finance to table documents relating to the current Budget Process Operational Rules (BPORs),

(ii) Minister Gallagher wrote to the President of the Senate on 8 February 2023 stating that "I note that the previous BPORs were released after the 2022-23 October Budget process was completed, in the interests of transparency and accountability. Once the 2023-24 Budget is delivered, the Government will consider further requests for the BPORs",

(iii) Minister Gallagher told the Senate on 9 February 2023 that "we did what the Senate asked last time and released them after the budget. I think that's fair and reasonable",

(iv) Minister Gallagher told the Senate Finance and Public Administration Committee on 14 February 2023 that "My decision is to not release it until the budget process is finished", and

(v) the 2023-24 Budget has now been released; and

(b) while noting the repeated failure of Minister Gallagher to comply with this order, despite the Senate's previous affirmation of it, and her continued rhetoric about transparency, resolves to:

(i) re-affirm its agreement to the order; and

(ii) require the Minister to comply with the order as soon as possible, and by no later than 5 pm on Thursday, 11 May 2023.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Penny Allman-Payne Queensland Yes
Dorinda Cox WA Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Barbara Pocock SA Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
David Shoebridge NSW Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Tim Ayres NSW No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Raff Ciccone Victoria No
Nita Green Queensland No
Karen Grogan SA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Fatima Payman WA No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Tony Sheldon NSW No
Marielle Smith SA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Jana Stewart Victoria No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Linda White Victoria No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jess Walsh Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Jacinta Nampijinpa Price NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Andrew McLachlan SA Deputy President Yes
David Pocock ACT Independent Yes
Lidia Thorpe Victoria Independent Absent
Jacqui Lambie Network (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Yes
Tammy Tyrrell Tasmania Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Alex Antic SA Yes
Wendy Askew Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bragg NSW Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Claire Chandler Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Sarah Henderson Victoria Yes
Hollie Hughes NSW Yes
Kerrynne Liddle SA Yes
Matt O'Sullivan WA Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Gerard Rennick Queensland Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Paul Scarr Queensland Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
David Van Victoria Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Ross Cadell NSW Yes
Susan McDonald Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Perin Davey NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA President No
Ralph Babet Victoria United Australia Party Yes
Totals (83% turnout) 42 Yes – 20 No